Electoral Boundaries Commission

After every two general elections, a three-person, independent, non-partisan electoral boundaries commission is established to propose changes to the area, boundaries and names of the electoral districts of British Columbia. This ensures that each MLA represents a similar number of people.

The Legislative Assembly reviews the commission’s proposals and votes to approve them, reject them, or approve them with alterations. If the commission’s proposals are approved or approved with alterations, the government must introduce them as a Bill.

The Melnick Commission submitted its proposals to the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly in 2015 and later that year the Legislative Assembly passed the Electoral Districts Act, establishing the current 87 electoral districts.

B.C.’s next election is scheduled for 2021 and will use the electoral districts that were established in 2015. The Electoral Boundaries Commission will be appointed after the next general election.

To see Electoral Boundary Commission reports, visit our Reports page.