Local By-elections

Elections BC oversees campaign financing and election advertising rules for local by-elections in B.C., but does not administer voting or candidate nominations. For key election dates and disclosure deadlines, click the local event information below.

For general information about local government by-elections in B.C., see the Province of B.C.’s Local Government By-elections page.

 


Current local by-elections dates and information


CANCELLED 2020 Arrow Lakes School District (SD10) By-election – May 30, 2020

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact School District 10 Arrow Lakes.

Key Dates Deadlines
Saturday, May 30, 2020 CANCELLED General Voting Day
Friday, August 28, 2020 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, September 28, 2020 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

 


Candidate expense limit $5,000.00

 


RESCINDED CEO 2020 Dawson Creek By-election – May 23, 2020

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the City of Dawson Creek.

Key Dates Deadlines
Saturday, May 23, 2020 RESCINDED CEO General Voting Day
Friday, August 21, 2020 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, September 21, 2020 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

 

Candidate expense limit $5,920.00

 


CANCELLED 2020 Lytton By-election – April 25, 2020

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the Village of Lytton.

Key Dates Deadlines
Saturday, April 25, 2020 CANCELLED General Voting Day
Friday, July 24, 2020 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, August 24, 2020 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

 

Candidate expense limit $5,000.00

 


CANCELLED 2020 Victoria By-election – April 4, 2020

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please see the City of Victoria’s information for voters and information for candidates or contact the City of Victoria.

Key Dates Deadlines
Saturday, April 4, 2020 CANCELLED General Voting Day
Friday, July 3, 2020 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Tuesday, August 4, 2020 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

 

Candidate expense limit $27,416.40

 


CANCELLED 2020 Rossland By-election – April 4, 2020

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the City of Rossland.

Key Dates Deadlines
Saturday, April 4, 2020 CANCELLED General Voting Day
Friday, July 3, 2020 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Tuesday, August 4, 2020 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

 

Candidate expense limit $5,000.00

 


2020 Zeballos By-election – February 29, 2020

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the Village of Zeballos.

Key Dates Deadlines
Tuesday, January 14, 2020 –
Friday, January 24, 2020
Nomination period
Saturday, February 1, 2020 –
Saturday, February 29, 2020
Campaign period
Saturday, February 29, 2020 General Voting Day
Friday, May 29, 2020 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, June 29, 2020 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

 

Candidate expense limit $5,000.00

 


2020 Bulkley-Nechako Regional District By-election – February 29, 2020

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako.

Key Dates Deadlines
Tuesday, January 14, 2020 –
Friday, January 24, 2020
Nomination period
Saturday, February 1, 2020 –
Saturday, February 29, 2020
Campaign period
Saturday, February 29, 2020 General Voting Day
Friday, May 29, 2020 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, June 29, 2020 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

 

Candidate expense limit $5,000.00

 


2020 Tahsis By-election – February 22, 2020

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the Village of Tahsis.

Key Dates Deadlines
Tuesday, January 7, 2020 –
Friday, January 17, 2020
Nomination period
Saturday, January 25, 2020 –
Saturday, February 22, 2020
Campaign period
Saturday, February 22, 2020 General Voting Day
Friday, May 22, 2020 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Tuesday, June 22, 2020 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

 

Candidate expense limit $5,000.00

 


2020 Squamish-Lillooet Regional District By-election – February 15, 2020

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District.

Key Dates Deadlines
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 –
Friday, January 10, 2020
Nomination period
Saturday, January 18, 2020 –
Saturday, February 15, 2020
Campaign period
Saturday, February 15, 2020 General Voting Day
Friday, May 15, 2020 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Tuesday, June 15, 2020 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

 

Candidate expense limit $5,000.00